The International Commission for the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries conducts studies and makes recommendations for measures to conserve and develop the fish stocks off Canada's East Coast. The convention under which the Commission was established was signed in 1949 and has since been ratified by 13 nations: Britain, Canada, Denmark, the Federal Republic of Germany, France, Iceland, Italy, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, the Soviet Union and the United States.

A Canadian proposal to bring the conservation of harp and hood seals of the Northwest Atlantic under the ICNAF Convention received endorsation by the last of the 13 member nations in April 1966, thus making it possible to initiate an international conservation program.

A draft international convention for the conservation of tuna and tuna-like fishes of the Atlantic Ocean was discussed at a 17-nation conference in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in May 1966. Canada was represented at the conference which considered proposals for establishment of an international commission to study tuna stocks and to recommend maximum catch levels for the various species.

Canada is a member of the International Whaling Commission and is obligated to submit statistical data on whales caught by Canadian vessels and to conduct scientific studies on whale stocks of special interest to Canada.

Another international fisheries agreement to which Canada is a signatory is the Great Lakes Fisheries Convention, which provides for joint action by Canada and the United States in Great Lakes fishery research and in a program for the control of the predatory lamprey in these waters. This convention came into force in 1955.

While co-operating with other nations to conserve high seas fisheries resources through international agreement, Canada acted in 1964 to protect inshore fisheries by establishing a 12-mile exclusive fishing zone on all coasts. The Territorial Sea and Fishing Zones Act proclaimed in that year has since been enforced against all countries except those having traditional fishing rights. Negotiations have been conducted with these latter countries with regard to the application of the fishing zone and to the location of the baselines from which the fishing zone is measured.

The Fisheries Research Board of Canada.—The Fisheries Research Board is a research organization established by Act of Parliament (RSC 1952, c. 121) for the purpose of conducting basic and applied research on Canada's living aquatic resources, their environment and their utilization. Its antecedents go back to 1898 and it is thus the lineal descendant of one of the oldest scientific organizations in Canada and one of the oldest government-supported research organizations under the supervision of an independent scientific board in North America.

By its Act, the Board is placed under the control of the Minister of Fisheries. The Board proper consists of a permanent chairman, who is appointed by the Governor in Council and who is a member of the Public Service of Canada, and "not more than eighteen other members" holding honorary appointments from the Minister of Fisheries for five-year terms; the Act requires that "a majority of the members of the Board, not including the chairman, shall be scientists, and the remaining members of the Board shall be representative of the Department [of Fisheries] and the fishing industry" scientific members are drawn principally from universities and research foundations across Canada, to include specialists in disciplines related to the Board's work. The industry members are selected from among Canada's leading business men with an intimate knowledge of fishing and the fishing industry and the Department of Fisheries representative is usually a senior staff member in Ottawa. Board members have both advisory and executive functions. The advisory functions are delegated in the first instance to regional Advisory Committees who conduct on-the-spot regional reviews and report to the Board on the operations and scientific programs with a view to their improvement. The executive functions are delegated to an Executive Committee elected from Board members and approved by the Minister.